Reflections on San Diego Comic-Con 2012 or #SDCC

So one word reviews come to mind like: “Wow.”, and “Wow!”, or even “Wow?”.

It was intense, rewarding, exciting, exhausting, exhilarating, and a whirlwind. I met fans, saw famous folks (Anthony Bourdain and I premiered books at the same Comic-Con!), checked out the future and the past of gaming and entertainment, and could not believe how awesome some of the costumes were.

I noticed that for the first few hours, most people walked around in a daze, and no matter what type of person they were, they almost all had a smile — where looks of shock and awe weren’t already plastered. I myself felt like that after about ten hours, but then I would make a new fan, and the tired feeling washed away from my limbs.

I met fathers with young daughters in costume, mothers helping their fledgling artist or writer sons, folks who worked for Lucasfilm and quit to make safer toys for their kids, and people who obviously had a passion for their heroes.

I sat just 25 feet from Brandon Sanderson for 4 days, the leading new voice in my genre.  I counted how many steps it would take for me to get where he is…seems longer than 25 feet. 

I got a card from a movie producer…that’s probably not going anywhere.  I got cards from some up and coming podcasters…that may well be.

I got new followers on Twitter, and new friends on Facebook.  I had two guys email me that they had finished the book and were already awaiting book 2 before I even got on the plane home.

I spent my birthday convincing very picky readers that I was writing their next favorite fantasy, and I got my picture with an admiral from Starfleet Command.

All in all, I’d say it was a success…and a blast…and a tornado of exhaustion and excitement…one I can’t wait to do again.

About jthartke

It is well known that J. T. slew several dragons in the pasture near the farm where he grew up. Many other quests, often borne from the classic books of fantasy literature, confounded his days and long nights. Those journeys sprang forth from the pages of Tolkien, Feist, Jordan, and Eddings. J. T. kept his flashlight well hidden under a tent of blankets and pillows, for fear that an ogre might see the light after bedtime. After a long dark quest through a much feared land known as "Q'orp'orate Qubicle", he was cast out to find his own way. He spent some time cooking for an insane master. J. T. then took it upon himself to create his own quest -- and thus was born The Dragonsoul Saga.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reflections on San Diego Comic-Con 2012 or #SDCC

  1. Hello! I am one of the likely thousand people you met in San Deigo. I’m glad to hear your trip was great! It was nice meeting you. May I ask a few questions? I know it’s a big commitment but do you plan on attending SDCC again next year? Also, do you have an estimate on how many business cards you gave out? Thanks!

    • jthartke says:

      Hi Kristy! It was great to meet you. I even still have your card.

      As of now, we fully intend on being at SDCC 2013. I’ve already applied for the booth. Book II of the Dragonsoul Saga will premiere there.

      We passed out almost 2,500 business cards to folks. Many of those have turned into follow up contacts and sales. Please feel free to email me at author(at)jthartke(dot)com if you have any other questions.

Leave a Reply

